Frequently Asked Questions

This page is designed to answer frequently asked questions for those interested in taking an Arizona Defensive Driving Diversion program with Central Phoenix Traffic School. If you need additional information or have questions, please feel free to contact us via e-mail at support@cenphotrafficschool.com or by phone at (602) 283-5677 (press 1 for English, 2 for Spanish) and one of our resprersentatives will gladly assist you.

Q. Why should I take the Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program?

A. If you have received a traffic citation, and you are eligible, you may take an Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program to avoid a single violation from being placed on your motor vehicle (MVD) driving record. The benefits of taking the class are typically a reduced fine or fee, no impact on your insurance premiums, and no points are assessed to your motor vehicle record. Additionally, you will learn valuable traffic information, driving techniques and current Arizona traffic laws.

If you violated one of Arizona's "Red Light" statutes (ARS §28-645, and others), and, if you are eligible, you should complete the Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program as it is the best alternative both from a cost and time perspective. If you pay the fine for a red light violation, you will be found "responsible" of the violation, and the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) will order you to attend Traffic Survival School. The Traffic Survival School curriculum is 8 hours in length and carries a cost of about $130.

Q. Am I eligible to take an Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program?

A. Most common moving violations qualify for the Defensive Driving diversion program. If you do NOT have a commercial (CDL) driver license, and have NOT taken a defensive driving class within 12 months of your last traffic citation, and your traffic ticket was not a result of a collision that involved a death or serious physical injury, and the violation is on the List of Eligible Violations, you are eligible to complete the defensive driving diversion program as long as you complete the course at least 7 calendar days prior to your court date.

You may use our Eligibility Check page here.

Q. Is the violation I was cited for qualify for the Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program?

A. The List of Qualified Violations may be viewed here.

Q. I was cited for multiple violations, does the Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program dismiss all of them?

A. No. The Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program dismisses a single violation only. You will have to contact the court to resolve any remaining violations.

Q. How long does the Arizona Defensive Driving program take to complete?

A. The traditional in-person classroom class takes 4 hours to complete. The online Arizona Defensive Driving program also takes 4 hours to complete. The Arizona Supreme Court mandates in ACJA §7-205 that the class be at least 240 minutes in duration and not more that 270 minutes (4-1/2 hours).

Our online Arizona Defensive Driving program is written at the nineth grade level and is broken into easy to read 30 minute (for the average reader) sections.

Q. I want to take an in-person classroom class, do I have to preregister?

A. Yes. The Arizona Supreme Court mandates in ACJA §7-205 that schools must preregister participants. By preregistering we are able to determine your eligibility through the Arizona Supreme Court centralized database and notify the jurisdictional court that you are planning to take a class with our school.

Q. How do I preregister?

A. Decide whether you want to take an online class or a traditional in-person classroom and select the appropriate registration button above.

Q. How much does the Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program cost?

A. It depends on the jurisdiction where you received your traffic complaint/citation. The jurisdictional court information is found on your ticket.

The fee for the Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program is made up of four components, that when added together give you your total fee. The State Court Fee is $20, The State Surcharge Fee is $45. These two fees go to the Arizona Supreme Court. Our school fee is $40, and the remainder of the fee is for the jurisdictional court (the court you are ordered to appear in). Jurisdictional court fees vary from court to court. To determine your total fees, please use the pricing schedules provided here:

The Arizona defensive driving program fees are collected via a debit or credit card when you register, or by certified funds (cashier's check or money order) when you attend the traditional in-person classroom class. We do not accept personal checks. Once you begin the defensive driving diversion program, the fees, with few exceptions, are non-refundable.

Q. When do I pay to take the Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program?

The Arizona defensive driving program fees are collected via a debit or credit card when you register, or by certified funds (cashier's check or money order) when you attend the traditional in-person classroom class. We do not accept personal checks. Once you begin the defensive driving diversion program, the fees, with few exceptions, are non-refundable.

Q. Is there an additional charge for rescheduling a traditional Classroom class?

A. No. You may reschedule your traditional in-person classroom class by calling us or by e-mail message. There is no additional charge for rescheduling.

Q. Is your website "Secure"?

A. Our website operates on a secured socket layer ("SSL") with 128 bit encryption. You will notice a lock image in your browser's address line as well as "https://" as the start of each website page. This is the indication that you are operating on a "secured" page in a "secured" and encrypted environment. Additionally, you may click the "Go Daddy Verified and Secured" seal located at the bottom of each page to confirm the sites status.

Q. I'm planning to take the IN-PERSON CLASSROOM class, Do I have to pass a written test?

A. No, there is no written test to pass in the traditional in-person classroom class.

Q. I'm planning to take the ONLINE class, Do I have to pass a written test?

A. Yes. All Arizona Supreme Court certified Defensive Driving Schools offering an on-line defensive driving diversion program are required to have a 25 question final examination with "environmental" questions unrelated to transportation/traffic law. Students are required to achieve a score of 80% or better in two trys to pass the program.

Within our curriculum, we imbed the answers to the 25 multiple choice questions in the reading. As you take the course, and with pen and paper handy, write down the test answers so you may refer to them when you take the final examination. If you follow this advise, it is impossible to not pass this on-line Defensive Driving program.

Q. What is your Refund Policy?

Once you start the Arizona Defensive Driving program, with few exceptions, there are NO REFUNDS!!. Our complete refund policy is found here ... Refund Policy

Q. What is your Privacy Policy?

Its simple, we do not share information we collect about you with ANYONE outside of the court(s) you are involved with. Our complete privacy policy is found here ... Privacy Policy

Q. Do I need to notify the Court that I have completed a Defensive Driving Diversion course?

No. We will do that for you through the Arizona Supreme Court centralized Defensive Driving database. Additionally, we will provide you with a Certificate of Completion for your records.

Q. Can I get a court arraignment date extension in order to complete the Defensive Driving diversion course?

A. Typically, Yes. Most commonly referred to as a "continuance", many courts offer a one-time court arraignment/appearance date extension of 30-60 days. If you need a court date continuance, you should call or e-mail us as we are able to provide continuances for many courts.

Q. Are there any deadlines for completing the Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program?

A. Yes. The Defensive Driving Diversion course must be completed at least 7 days prior to your court arraignment/appearance date on your traffic complaint/citation, or within the time allowed by a court date continuance/extension.

Q. Will I receive a Certificate of Completion for taking the Arizona Defensive Driving diversion program?

A. Yes. Upon completion of the class, you will receive a Certificate of Completion for your records.

Q. Is the Arizona Defensive Driving Diversion program the same as Traffic Survival School?

A. No. Traffic Survival School is an order to attend Traffic Survival School issued by the Motor Vehicle Division (or may be court ordered by a judge) for motorists that have accumalated 8-12 points on their motor vehicle record (MVR) in a period of 365 consecutive days (1 year) OR have been found "responsible" for violating a "Red Light" violation (ARS §28-645, and others). The fee to attend the 8-hour Traffic Survival School program is in additon to the fine paid to the court.